Rugby World Cup 2023

The 2023 Rugby World Cup will be hosted by France, is scheduled to be the tenth Rugby World Cup, taking place in the year of the 200th anniversary of the ‘invention’. The Rugby World Cup 2023 will be played from 8 September 2023 to 21 October 2013. The final will take place at the Stade de France. France is toasting the announcement that it will host the Rugby World Cup 2023 after being named the surprise winner of a secret World Rugby council ballot in London. The bid beat off competition from the preferred hosts.

Rugby World Cup 2023


A total of 12 teams will have gained automatic qualification to the tournament after finishing in the top three of their pool at the 2019 Rugby World Cup, while France automatically qualifies as host. The remaining seven or eight spaces will be decided by existing regional competitions followed by a few cross-regional play-offs. The final spot will be decided by a repechage tournament in November 2022. The country which host the world cup automatically qualifies the world cup and also play the opening match of the world cup. There are 20 teams are set to compete.

Hosting and Venues

The French Rugby Federation bid was chosen by World Rugby on 15 November 2017, ahead of bids by the South African Rugby Union and the Irish Rugby Football Union. France had launched its bid on 9 February 2017. On 17 March, 12 host cities were selected. These cities are very famous for travel where rugby fans can also enjoy their life with different activities. France always provides the best facility for all sports events. This list was later reduced to 9 cities

  • Saint-Denis
  • Marseille
  • Décines-Charpieu
  • Villeneuve-d’Ascq
  • Bordeaux
  • Saint-Étienne
  • Nice
  • Nantes
  • Toulouse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *